Day 48: Paradise Valley, Arizona

Elevation gained: 340 ft/Miles 45/Total Miles: 2,436/Total Fast Food: 18

Over the last weeks, I’ve given a great deal of thought as to what’s next for me after my ride concludes. As you can see, I’ve finally figured it out. Now, all I need to do is break it to W.C.C.

I awoke this morning at first light near the base of the Superstition Mountains. Because I had arrived after dark the previous evening, this was my first chance to enjoy the view. It’s a wonderful campground with well spaced sites and overlooking Phoenix a 1,000 ft below. I left early before other campers were awake and coasted quietly down Hwy 88 in the direction of Apache Junction. A coyote casually loped ahead of me down the centerline until he sensed my presence and scampered into the brush.

What remains of the boomtown of Goldfield is off to the north. It was home to the Bluebird Mine, at its time one of the most productive gold mines in the country. Old mining equipment competed with Saguara for landscape as I approached Apache Junction.

From there, I spent the next 35 miles navigating the Phoenix roadways to my final destination. This is one of the most horizontal urban areas which I have ever visited. What most of us refer to as “Phoenix”, is really a combination of cities – Mesa, Gilbert, Tempe, Chandler, Scottsdale, Paradise Valley, Phoenix, Peoria and Glendale – that have all melded together under continuous population growth. It goes on f-o-r-e-v-e-r.

The only noteworthy portion of today’s ride was when I was joined by two men who are rollerblading across the country to raise money for the treatment and cure of Huntington’s Disease. I had heard about them from other riders over the last two months. We talked for a couple of miles as they drafted off me. Their pace is a very good 14-16mph on level ground. Hard to imagine how they dealt with some of the climbs and descents over the last few weeks.

In the early afternoon, I arrived at the home of some very close, long time friends. I’m going to spend the next couple of days with them, cleaning my bike, relaxing and figuring out my final path home.

3 Comments

Filed under Biking U.S.

3 responses to “Day 48: Paradise Valley, Arizona

  1. Mike-

    Think about writing a book on your travels. This is great stuff. Keep riding and writing. Your target audience is way bigger than just bikers. A lot of my friends are in the (next) part of their lives and would enjoy your observations of Americana.

    L-Mike

  2. U. Dick

    Mike,
    I think W.C.C. has already signed you up for a morning paper route 25 square miles, so I don’t think you will have time for much else.
    Besides I can’t afford new “Worry Beads” each month.

    Big hug,
    U. Dick

  3. Siong Koon

    Glad that you have decided to rest and recharge with good old friends. Take care

Leave a Reply

