Day 67: Marina, California

Elevation gained: 1,191 ft/Miles 43/Total Miles: 3,319/ Total Fast Food: 20

I lounged around this morning enjoying my campsite. I’ve camped at Pfeiffer before, but it has always been during the summer when every campsite is filled and noisy. Given that it is still May and a weekday, the park was only half full. Because it was dark when I arrived, I wasn’t able to fully appreciate the beauty of where I slept. Surrounded by towering redwoods with a carpet of oxalis and bordered by a fast moving stream, it was secluded, quiet and peaceful. Just what I needed after yesterday’s ride. I ate a leisurely breakfast and read a book with only the stellar jays as a distraction.

The wind continued again today, but it was not as forceful permitting me to enjoy the countryside in this area of Big Sur. At times, I felt as if I were riding through Christina’s World, the famous painting by Wyeth with its long flowing grasses and old wooden buildings. While I was stopped and enjoying the view, a southbound touring cyclist pulled over to my side of the road. John is from Canada. Even if he didn’t mention this, you would know it by his modest, friendly demeanor and the occasional “eh” in his conversation. At the age of 47, he pulled the plug and quit his job, sold his possessions and is now riding from British Columbia down into South America. We could have talked all day there on the roadside; however, I was still bucking the headwinds and I wanted to make progress before they worsen in the afternoon. We exchanged contact information and headed off.

The remainder of the afternoon was spent riding through Carmel, Monterey, Seaside and into Marina. As I don’t have a detailed map and Hwy 1 does not permit cyclists in this area, I generally just headed west on surface streets bouncing around like a ball in a pachinko machine until I found myself in Marina.

7 Comments

Filed under Biking U.S.

7 responses to “Day 67: Marina, California

  1. Nancy Ramirez

    Mike, Today we attended a showing of Iron Man 2 (compliments of Oracle). And, then I came home and read more of your adventures. Interesting contrast between a manufactured hero and a real one on a personal journey. Well done. Will be happy to hear you made it safely home.

    Regards,
    Nancy

  2. Pedro

    Welcome almost home big guy. I’m guessing tomorrow is the day. Hearty Congratulations!

    Although it’ll be great to be home with the family, reminds me of one of my favorite songs from the 70’s…”it’s the going not the getting there that’s good.”

  3. Gerry

    Mike,

    So bittersweet to know your daily blogs are coming to an end as your fantastic adventure concludes. Thank you for sharing with all of us. You have no idea how much I have enjoyed reading every word you have written.

    It’s like the end of a great book, where you are left wondering what happens to the characters as time goes on….what’s the next day like in Mike’s cycling adventure? Lucky for me, I can drive over to your house and ask you what’s going on.

    Can’t wait to see you back in LG, where hot showers and good meals abound. And you don’t have to ride 100 miles every day to get either!

  4. jeannette

    Wow — you are so close now. When’s the parade route due through LG? We’ll be out there cheering — complete with (non bike chasing) dog and real food!

  5. Doug

    “Maverick, call the ball!”

  6. Polish Super Hero

    Mike,
    So close…are you making the jump home today? Wish I could be around to welcome you but duty calls. Congrats on an incredible accomplishment! You are the true super hero…I’ll keep my eye out the “Grippers”.
    Ride in peace,
    PSH

  7. Deb

    Well, Mike you have made quite an adventure happen! Many of us are envious of your “grit”! You should write a book about it!!
    Some day soon, I hope to see you and hear more stories and see the photos you have taken. Dad has enjoyed hearing about it all, too! Helps him pass some of the days in rehab.
    Hugs,
    Deb

Leave a Reply

